A Rant

I think that you could simply take out the information regarding your working for the paper and the rest is a perfect example of a letter to the editor. I live in San Antonio and I am constantly utilizing my editing skills and reviewing content in the only local newspaper. It is a shame that newspapers are no longer monitoring themselves.

Linda G. Hill

I am officially ashamed of my job. The organization that prints and distributes the local newspaper that I deliver–that people pay good money for–needs to take a good, close look at itself and its practices. It’s no wonder subscriptions are on the decline. I’ve gone from having twenty-three customers to thirteen in the three years I’ve been doing the job.

Today, however, takes the proverbial cake.

The article in question (no, I won’t cite it for the following reasons:  a) I don’t want to advertise publicly where I live; b) the article is conspicuously absent from their website anyway; and c) I still work for them. For now.) is about a recent awareness-raising campaign entitled “Slut Walk.”

The annual Slut Walk, if you haven’t heard about it, is a tool to teach people (men mostly) that dressing like a slut isn’t an invitation for sexual assault. This, in and of…

View original post 301 more words

Leave a Reply

