Stop Rewarding Bad Behavior

Two pieces of great leadership advice that I have received came from my former director of the University Career Center at The University of Texas at San Antonio, first always have a plan A, plan B, plan C, and if needed a plan D; the second don’t reward bad behavior!

You are probably wondering, what? So in the beginning when I started this blog, I named it “The Musings of my Mind”. This was back in August and then the mid-term election came around and I told my sister that I was going to change the name to “What’s Rattling My Cage”. The reason for the change? My mind no longer has musings!!!! Since the fall began I have more things rattle my cage and yet have not taken the time to get it out there.

Let’s take the mid-term elections. I don’t know about your states, but the great State of Texas had some the worst campaigning I have seen in years. We can’t do a whole lot about the content of political ads that the political action committees (PAC) put on the air. But when the particular candidates in a race say for governor state things like, “I will double border security funding, and will add 500 border security patrol agents” as seen in this particular ad “Greg Abbott will double border security“. When I hear things like this I think to myself, how is this going to be paid for? Another example that my brother in law and I talked about over the holidays was how many candidates for positions like Railroad Commissioner, Land Commissioner and State Comptroller were running on the platform that they would secure the border. REALLY – not part of their job responsibilities – they have nothing to do with border security.

I got off on a tangent, sorry about that! Let me get back to the “stop rewarding bad behavior”. I must say that I have a true bitter dislike for this horrible obsession that the world has with the “24hour news cycle” where everything is regurgitated over and over and by the way did I say over!!

I still have feelings of depression and anger over 9/11. Some of it is because our country got into two wars that we did not have any business in – but along with that, that is when the world truly became obsessed with BAD BEHAVIOR regurgitation! For example, how many times has the story and follow up stories been repeated about the assault by Isis on the Parisian satirical magazine Charlie Hebdoe.Now we have the new story that Isis hacked into the US Military Social Media Sites. Why are we having these issues?

Why do we continue to have issues of police officers being killed by angry mentally unstable individuals under the guise of doing it for those “unarmed” black men that were shot by police officers? 

Why do we continue to hear about George Zimmerman still getting arrested for many things after he was acquitted of second-degree murder in 2013 after shooting Trayvon Martin, an unarmed black 17-year-old.

Why do we continue to hear how Isis and Al Qaeda are growing and we must be always diligently looking behind our backs? 

These are just a few examples. But the reason is because the world media is obsessed with REWARDING BAD BEHAVIOR!!! I say this because the more attention that you give to bad behavior the more bad behavior is going to continue. What is more troubling is that our media and government wants to always tell the world what we are doing and when. Tonight on CNN there was a rerun program called Double Agent Inside al Qaeda for the CIA. When we air shows like these we just add fuel to the fire so that we can continue to REWARD BAD BEHAVIOR when it takes place.

I am a firm advocate of reverting all the way back to the days when there was no television, no internet, and NO 24 HOUR NEWS CYCLE OF REGURGITATION!!! Until next time that’s “What’s Rattling My Cage”!!!!

2 thoughts on “Stop Rewarding Bad Behavior

  1. I don’t know about having no TV or Internet, I do kind of like those things 🙂 but definitely could live without the “24 HOUR NEWS CYCLE OF REGURGITATION” & I agree, I think it in some ways it rewards bad behavior. AND they do repeat the same things over and over and over 😉

Leave a Reply

