When Will We Learn????

Let me start by saying that today’s world is a much different place than when I grew up in the early 1970’s when my mother drove a 1973 Pontiac Grand Am. Back then for reasons that are neither here nor there my mother would go shopping at the Ellington Air Force Base Commissary, or Safeway and leave me in the car with the windows open. She would tell me stay in the car and I am sure she would she probably told me not to talk to anybody. I would stay in the car and back in those days I more than likely was sitting in the floorboard of the back seat. I told my sister today when I called to make sure I had the year of the Grand Am right that even if they did look at the car, who would have wanted to take me????

Why am I telling you this? Well, there must be something rattling my cage today!!

I am watching ABC World News Tonight with David Muir when this story is reported. How a Kidnapped Toddler Helped Police Find Him . I also found the story on the Deseret News. We hear of these stories all the time and sometimes the child is not so quickly rescued. Sometimes the child goes through a horrific ordeal and the traumatization of the child is inexcusable.

I do not care if you are running in somewhere for one minute or an hour, and let me clarify my statements with saying that I understand that when you have multiple children to drop off at multiple places it can be time consuming to remove all of your children at each place. I also understand that when we go to the gas station, post office, or anywhere else that we make quick trips to that we often believe we will only be away from the car for a moment. I also understand that many of today’s young parents grew up in an era where you could leave a child in a running car without the fear of someone running up, jumping in your car and driving off with your child. You can not do that today – no ifs, ands, or buts – period!!!!!!

I can guarantee you that my sisters when they have their grandchildren with them, and I have three beautifully adorable great-nieces from two of my nieces and we are awaiting the arrival of great-niece number four from my youngest niece, they do not let those girls out of their sight. I hope that my words are true when I say that my nieces do not ever leave their children in the car whether the car is running and they lock the door or the car is not running and they lock the door.

I implore all  people who transport children – whether this be their parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles, even brothers and sister to really think and pay attention and make sure they take their child(ren) with them when they exit their car. Treat your child like your cell phone and purse!! The one saving grace I will give this mother is that she remember that she left her cell phone in the car. That being said, I guarantee that almost everyone makes sure that they have their cell phone or purses attached to them. Treat your child like you are protecting your identity with your life especially in todays uncertain and scary world!!!

Again, I ask when will we learn??? Until next time, that’s what’s rattling my cage!!!

One thought on “When Will We Learn????

  1. I agree GLF – though my child is grown and in her late 20s, I never left her in the car as a baby, toddler, or child. I probably made her come in with me as a teenager, too – knowing me LOL!!

Leave a Reply

