“B” is for Belief(s) – Late for April 2

So as usual I am a day late, and a dollar short when it comes to my discipline in regard to my blogging. This post is part of the “Blogging from A to Z April Challenge” and is for April 2.

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary gives the following definition for BELIEF:

1 : a state or habit of mind in which trust or confidence is placed in some person or thing  

2 : something believed; especially : a tenet or body of tenets held by a group  

3 : conviction of the truth of some statement or the reality of some being or phenomenon especially when based on examination of evidence

So, how do we come to have beliefs. When we are young from being toddler to our teens the only way to come by beliefs is based on what we are taught by our parents, our siblings, and teachers.

Then something strange happens when we become teenagers. We begin to see the world differently, specifically how we feel the world should be. We believe that we should be given more freedom by our parents; we believe that our teachers are harder on us than they should be; and we even believe everything our parents teach us about politics, politicians and our religious beliefs.

Then we go off to college, start careers, start families and our ability to continue to believe everything that we have learned from our parents, teachers etc. becomes very skewed. Why does this happen? This happens because as adults we grow mentally and our beliefs change because of life experiences and we realize that everything is not so cut and dry. Sometimes our experiences are excellent, but on the flip side those experiences can be very bad.

When the experiences are bad whether they are self-caused or caused by things out of control our beliefs again become skewed. The outcome of those experiences can often times be determined by an individual’s belief in themselves. Why do I say this? Because for many years I was unwilling to accept my alcoholism and my addiction to cocaine. I have owned my status of being a gay man living with HIV/AIDS for 18 years because I know the only way to educate people is to OWN it and TALK about it.

My belief now is that the only way that I am going to stay SOBER and CLEAN is to OWN it and TALK about it. My greatest BELIEF is that my Higher Power whom I choose to call GOD can continue to restore me to sanity. But He will only do this if I do the work that is required of me and part of that work is having the belief that when I talk about it, I never know whose life I may be touching.

Until next time that’s “What’s Rattling My Cage.”

Leave a Reply

