Blogging from A to Z Challenge April 2015 | “D” is for Defying

This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge April 2015 and is for April 4.

The Merriam-Webster Dictionary gives the following definition for DEFYING:

1: Archaic : to challenge to combat.  

2 : To challenge to do something considered impossible : dare. 

3 : To confront with assured power of resistance : disregard < defy public opinion>.  

4 : To resist attempts at : withstand <the paintings defy classification>.

These are all excellent and what is so funny is that I as an individual meet all but the first definition. I do not see myself as archaic. But I can definitely show examples of my daring myself to do things that nobody thought was possible for me, where I have definitely disregarded public opinion and where I have withstood when others felt I would falter.

For example after many years of mistakes and spending more than my share of time in the Holiday Hilton Texas style I was pretty sure that I would never be anything other than someone working for minimum wage, please note there is nothing wrong with that , I just aspired to do more with my life. It was not until I met my partner of over 14 years that I truly began to believe that I could dare to not just dream but to make them come true.

I went to school and became a medical assistant and phlebotomist, but that wasn’t enough for me. I decided I wanted to go after a degree in journalism so I began classes at San Antonio College and the great thing was that I took the majority of my classes online. While I could have gotten an Associates of Arts in Journalism I was not satisfied. I wanted more. The only universities in San Antonio that offered journalism degrees were the private universities and the tuition was way to high for me. There was no way that I was going to move to Austin even if I were accepted to The University of Texas at Austin. I dared to continue to dream

So I still kept daring myself and I only applied at The University of Texas at San Antonio, still not fully believing that I would be accepted. I was and I entered with a 3.75 GPA. Not only did I get a Bachelor of Arts in Communication with concentrations in Public Relations and Technical Communication, I defied even myself when I became a full-time staff member with the university. I continued on and received my Master of Arts in Communication.

Unfortunately where I failed or succeeded as you would have it is that when everyone else knew that I was spiraling out control because of alcoholism and addiction to cocaine I showed complete disregard.  Because of this I gave up my job that I loved dearly and have struggled ever since to gain employment back at the university. But that being said I also disregard some folks who say that I will never be able to go back to work at the university. I don not believe in the word NEVER! Over the last few months I have had some really great interviews and in the end something happens – that is okay because when it is time I will return to a position that I will love and that will allow me the opportunity to continue to grow personally and professionally.

The best part out of all this is that I am WITHSTANDING and enjoying my sober and clean life and the promises that are coming true slowly but surely!! Until next time that’s “What’s Rattling My Cage.”

Leave a Reply

