“T” is for Thriving as in “Thriving not Surviving!”

This post is late and is for Thursday April 23, 2015 and part of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge for April 2015!

Life can be very interesting and depending on choices that you make when you are young you can find yourself in a situation where you are either surviving or thriving.

Unfortunately I was one who made many poor choices as both a young teenager and as I got into my 20’s and early 30’s. As I talk about often I have been a drinker for many years and had a an off and on affair with being a cocaine addict. Because of those choices of drinking and using I found myself finding out that I was HIV positive in January 1997 because of a drunken night of unprotected sex.

That did nothing to stop me from drinking and using over the years. In fact when I first started on HIV medications I was taking over 30 pills a day and still drank and became non-compliant because of all the side effects of the medications and of course the alcohol. Today I am THRIVING not SURVIVING because of several things.

1) I am on a once a day regimen of 4 pills along with my Lithium to control my issues with being bi-polar/depression and my blood pressure medicine.

2) I am non-detectable and have been for over two years even though for a while I was in the throes of hell of my alcoholism and latest bout with addiction to cocaine.

3) I have the most loving support system of family and friends that a homosexual with HIV/AIDS, alcoholic/addict could ever have! Specifically my husband of over 14 years, my two BEAUTIFUL sisters with their husbands, my three BEAUTIFUL nieces with their husbands/boyfriends and their ADORABLE children.

4) This is the most important reason that I am THRIVING not SURVIVING, the reason it is not listed as number 1 is because it was the last thing to happen in my life. I am SOBER and CLEAN and have been since February 13, 2014 when I became SICK and TIRED of being SICK and TIRED!!!! This was made possible by my giving everything over to my HIGHER POWER who I choose to call GOD! I have my face to face meetings, I attend online meetings with www.globalstepsaa.com also accessible at www.intherooms.com. I also do service work at both face to face and in the online meetings..

So there is something to be said for THRIVING not SURVIVING!!!! Until next time, that’s “What’s Rattling My Cage!!”

T

Leave a Reply

